Xinbeitou Station
During the Japanese colonial period, to develop the hot spring tourism industry in the Xinbeitou area, the Xinbeitou Branch Line was constructed. In 1916 (Taisho 5th year), "Xinbeitou Stop" was established and later rena…
Visitor Essentials
During the Japanese colonial period, to develop the hot spring tourism industry in the Xinbeitou area, the Xinbeitou Branch Line was constructed. In 1916 (Taisho 5th year), "Xinbeitou Stop" was established and later renamed "Xinbeitou Station," giving rise to the name Xinbeitou. Xinbeitou Station is the only surviving century-old station on the Tamsui Railway Line, and even in Taipei City. Its structure is made of wood, and distinctive features of the station's architecture include the carved brackets under the eaves and the 3+1 combined dormer windows added in 1937 due to an expansion of the station building. However, in 1988, due to the discontinuation of the Tamsui Railway Line, the station entered history and its building was dismantled and relocated to the Taiwan Folk Village in Changhua. In 2003, with the rise of cultural heritage preservation awareness, the Taipei City Government and private organizations worked together to advocate for the station's return. After numerous twists and turns, Nichiei Assets Co., Ltd., moved by Taipei citizens' enthusiasm and anticipation for the station's homecoming, agreed to gratuitously donate Xinbeitou Station to the Taipei City Government's Department of Cultural Affairs. In 2016, a simulated station structure was used to test traffic issues for the station's reassembly location. The final decision was to place it within Qixing Park near its original site (as seen today). Restoration work immediately began, and the station was reassembled and reopened to the public in April 2017. Source: Xinbeitou Station official website
Discover the Context
No stories linked yet.
Happening at Xinbeitou Station
View CalendarNo upcoming events at this venue.